<  

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches of Blankenberge are never the same width because of the tides. For example, if you take a relaxing walk on the beach, it is useful to know when it is high or low tide.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Cadzand for the two following months.

May 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 25 May
0:50 hrs
 
-176 cm
 
6:46 hrs
165 cm
 
 
13:06 hrs
 
-137 cm
 
19:05 hrs
140 cm
 
Sunday 26 May
1:56 hrs
 
-163 cm
 
7:40 hrs
143 cm
 
 
14:11 hrs
 
-123 cm
 
19:59 hrs
121 cm
 
Monday 27 May
2:56 hrs
 
-156 cm
 
8:46 hrs
126 cm
 
 
15:26 hrs
 
-119 cm
 
20:59 hrs
107 cm
 
Tuesday 28 May
3:56 hrs
 
-154 cm
 
9:58 hrs
122 cm
 
 
16:26 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
22:25 hrs
108 cm
 
Wednesday 29 May
4:55 hrs
 
-158 cm
 
11:16 hrs
139 cm
 
 
17:20 hrs
 
-136 cm
 
23:38 hrs
130 cm
 
Thursday 30 May
5:54 hrs
 
-168 cm
 
12:05 hrs
163 cm
 
 
18:10 hrs
 
-150 cm
Friday 31 May
0:20 hrs
155 cm
 
 
6:39 hrs
 
-180 cm
 
12:46 hrs
186 cm
 
 
18:56 hrs
 
-164 cm

June 2019

 
 
HW
LW
Saturday 1 June
0:57 hrs
180 cm
 
 
7:20 hrs
 
-191 cm
 
13:21 hrs
207 cm
 
 
19:38 hrs
 
-178 cm
Sunday 2 June
1:35 hrs
202 cm
 
 
8:00 hrs
 
-200 cm
 
13:56 hrs
223 cm
 
 
20:18 hrs
 
-190 cm
Monday 3 June
2:12 hrs
220 cm
 
 
8:38 hrs
 
-207 cm
 
14:35 hrs
231 cm
 
 
20:58 hrs
 
-199 cm
Tuesday 4 June
2:50 hrs
232 cm
 
 
9:22 hrs
 
-209 cm
 
15:15 hrs
232 cm
 
 
21:45 hrs
 
-204 cm
Wednesday 5 June
3:29 hrs
237 cm
 
 
10:02 hrs
 
-206 cm
 
15:53 hrs
227 cm
 
 
22:26 hrs
 
-207 cm
Thursday 6 June
4:09 hrs
237 cm
 
 
10:45 hrs
 
-200 cm
 
16:35 hrs
217 cm
 
 
23:10 hrs
 
-208 cm
Friday 7 June
4:53 hrs
230 cm
 
 
11:30 hrs
 
-191 cm
 
17:20 hrs
201 cm
 
Saturday 8 June
0:00 hrs
 
-207 cm
 
5:42 hrs
217 cm
 
 
12:19 hrs
 
-180 cm
 
18:14 hrs
183 cm
 
Sunday 9 June
0:55 hrs
 
-203 cm
 
6:38 hrs
200 cm
 
 
13:09 hrs
 
-168 cm
 
19:19 hrs
167 cm
 
Monday 10 June
1:50 hrs
 
-198 cm
 
7:58 hrs
187 cm
 
 
14:11 hrs
 
-157 cm
 
20:26 hrs
157 cm
 
Tuesday 11 June
2:56 hrs
 
-192 cm
 
9:05 hrs
181 cm
 
 
15:19 hrs
 
-150 cm
 
21:35 hrs
154 cm
 
Wednesday 12 June
4:06 hrs
 
-187 cm
 
10:12 hrs
181 cm
 
 
16:34 hrs
 
-149 cm
 
22:44 hrs
159 cm
 
Thursday 13 June
5:25 hrs
 
-188 cm
 
11:18 hrs
189 cm
 
 
17:51 hrs
 
-158 cm
 
23:45 hrs
173 cm
 
Friday 14 June
6:26 hrs
 
-195 cm
 
12:17 hrs
201 cm
 
 
18:46 hrs
 
-171 cm
Saturday 15 June
0:36 hrs
191 cm
 
 
7:16 hrs
 
-202 cm
 
13:06 hrs
211 cm
 
 
19:36 hrs
 
-185 cm
Sunday 16 June
1:25 hrs
205 cm
 
 
7:58 hrs
 
-205 cm
 
13:52 hrs
217 cm
 
 
20:22 hrs
 
-196 cm
Monday 17 June
2:08 hrs
216 cm
 
 
8:39 hrs
 
-202 cm
 
14:36 hrs
218 cm
 
 
21:02 hrs
 
-203 cm
Tuesday 18 June
2:52 hrs
221 cm
 
 
9:22 hrs
 
-196 cm
 
15:18 hrs
214 cm
 
 
21:46 hrs
 
-205 cm
Wednesday 19 June
3:35 hrs
221 cm
 
 
10:00 hrs
 
-186 cm
 
15:57 hrs
207 cm
 
 
22:26 hrs
 
-204 cm
Thursday 20 June
4:15 hrs
217 cm
 
 
10:37 hrs
 
-175 cm
 
16:38 hrs
198 cm
 
 
23:06 hrs
 
-200 cm
Friday 21 June
4:55 hrs
207 cm
 
 
11:15 hrs
 
-163 cm
 
17:15 hrs
187 cm
 
 
23:46 hrs
 
-193 cm
Saturday 22 June
5:35 hrs
194 cm
 
 
11:55 hrs
 
-152 cm
 
17:55 hrs
175 cm
 
Sunday 23 June
0:30 hrs
 
-185 cm
 
6:16 hrs
178 cm
 
 
12:36 hrs
 
-141 cm
 
18:38 hrs
162 cm
 
Monday 24 June
1:15 hrs
 
-175 cm
 
7:06 hrs
162 cm
 
 
13:14 hrs
 
-131 cm
 
19:25 hrs
148 cm
 
Tuesday 25 June
2:08 hrs
 
-166 cm
 
7:56 hrs
149 cm
 
 
14:28 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
20:18 hrs
137 cm
 
Wednesday 26 June
3:06 hrs
 
-161 cm
 
8:56 hrs
142 cm
 
 
15:36 hrs
 
-124 cm
 
21:16 hrs
131 cm
 
Thursday 27 June
4:06 hrs
 
-159 cm
 
10:00 hrs
144 cm
 
 
16:30 hrs
 
-131 cm
 
22:22 hrs
136 cm
 
Friday 28 June
4:56 hrs
 
-163 cm
 
11:04 hrs
157 cm
 
 
17:26 hrs
 
-141 cm
 
23:28 hrs
153 cm
 
Saturday 29 June
5:55 hrs
 
-171 cm
 
11:56 hrs
177 cm
 
 
18:16 hrs
 
-155 cm
Sunday 30 June
0:18 hrs
176 cm
 
 
6:45 hrs
 
-181 cm
 
12:45 hrs
198 cm
 
 
19:05 hrs
 
-170 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide (HW) is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide (LW) in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Oosterschelde or Waddenzee, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go mudhiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.